Team Rufus District 1 Candidates: Ready for anything!

#TeamRufusHarus District 1 is composed of qualified and experienced professionals from different fields of expertise that have rendered public service within their individual organizations. They are bound in their common aim of panaghiusa and kabag-uhan for Cagayan de Oro.

Mayoral Candidate Rufus Rodriguez leads the Team Rufus District 1. He had served as a Senior Board member and Vice-Governor of Misamis Oriental. Kagay-anons have loyally elected him as their District 2 Congressman for 3 terms. Within this period, Congressman Rufus Rodriguez had secured and oversaw the implementation of multi-billion projects related to education, employment and livelihood, environment, agriculture, tourism infrastructure and health. He had been awarded as Ten Most Outstanding Congressmen of the Philippines in 2008 and 2012.

Incumbent  Councilor Roger Abaday had authored and co-authored various legislative measures in the 15th to 17th City Council related to socio-economic services, order and public safety, education, health, infrastructure and environmental protection programs.

Incumbent  Kagawad Gil Banaag of Bulua, is also an experienced lawyer and a practicing CPA and Real Estate Broker who held several positions in private and public offices including being Asst. Regional Director, Concurrent Capacity Legal Officer, Bureau of Local Government, Region 10.

Atty. Roy Raagas began his political stint in 1980 as the Federation President of the Kabataang Barangay. He then handled different positions such as City Administrator, City Councilor, Head of CDO Office of Senator Nene Pimentel and Planning and Development Consultant for USAID, ASUAID, Canadian AID and other foreign funded projects. He is also an active Regional Vice-Chair for Eastern Mindanao Boy Scout of the Philippines Council.

Atty. Elmer de la Rosa is a multi-awarded lawyer and achiever who had worked as a Professor at Xavier University and has served as Para-legal Officer and Trial Attorney for the Department of Agrarian Reform – Misamis Oriental. He has been awarded Oustanding DAR Trial Attorney by DAR Provincial Office Misamis Oriental.

Engineer Alex Abellera has a 30-year experience managing both government and private projects in the province. He simultaneously manages working as a Civil Engineer of the National Housing Authority, Gilex Construction and Trading, CEO of We Love Construction Corp. and as subcontractor of Jejors Construction Corporation.

Retired Colonel Boy Marban was a Regional Chief of the PNP Crime Laboratory 10/SOCO and also a former Instructor of Firearm Identification/Ballistics Examination at the PNP Training Center – Patag 10. His unit was awarded Best National Support Unit in 2007 and 2006 and Regional Operational Support Unit of the Year in 2008 under his leadership.

Doctor Dures Tagayuna is a pediatric surgeon that had spent 30 years leading medical missions in Cagayan de Oro City and the rest of the Philippines. She is currently a member of the Board of Regents – Philippine College of Surgeons (elected for the 5th term) and the only Fellow of the Philippine Society of Pediatric Surgeons in the Northern Mindanao for more than 20 years.

Doctor Leo Navarro is the Founder, President, and Chairman of three medical institutions: y San Ignacio Fundacion de Salud., Inc., Aray Ko Doc Clinic and Tambali Ko Doc Pharmacy. He currently serves as the Director of the National Federation of Cooperatives, Director for United Way and as Resident Doctor at “Aray Ko Doc,” DXRU radio program.

Banker Nharz Tan is a retired bank manager and is actively holding the position of Commodore of the Philippine Coast Guard Auxilliary (PCGA) and Governor Elect of Kiwanis International – Philippine South District. He is also a Board Member (Auditor) of Boy Scout of the Philippines – CDO Council.